Faculty Senate Wednesday, September 27, 2017 4:00 – 6:00, JCK 880

Minutes from previous meetings are available at http://www.txstate.edu/facultysenate/about/59th-senate-minutes.html

Attending senators: Rebecca Bell-Metereau, Janet Bezner, Elizabeth Bishop, Scott Bowman, Michel Conroy, Jesse Gainer, Dana Garcia, Benjamin Martin, David Nolan, Shane Smith, Ting Liu, Alex White, Diego Vacaflores

Liaisons and guests: Selene Hinojosa (Library), Albino Hernandez (*University Star*)

Faculty Senate Fellow:

The position of Faculty Senate Fellow was formed to provide opportunities to learn about shared governance. Senate discussed ways to honor the late Andrew Marks, the first and only Senate Fellow to date. He contributed a study related to shared governance and nontenure line faculty. Faculty Senate approved issuing a new call to full-time faculty to apply for the position with project proposals addressing the senate goal to "strengthen community."

Sick Leave Reporting:

Faculty must report sick leave retroactively to September 1, and departments must submit forms reporting absences during assigned duties. Senators raised concerns about additional staff or faculty time required to keep and report records, along with problems in clarifying and understanding requirements. Senate moved to request the administration to revise (or clarify) the policy, in advance of scheduled revision in December.

Assistant Vice President for Academic Services (AVPAS):

Dr. Ron Brown is stepping down as full-time AVPAS, a position that reports to the president. Interested full professors are invited to apply.

Updates:

Academic Program Coordinators and SACS are reviewing programs. Enrollment is down slightly and SCH is flat, but research funding is higher than last year.

Senate and Chair Summative Reviews:

In keeping with section 04 of <u>PPS 01.02.11</u>, the Faculty Senate, in collaboration with the college dean, provides external observers who attend the introductory meeting and make themselves available to receive comments in confidence and convey them to the dean, preserving anonymity. The following senators will serve:

1) Senator Bishop, CLAS, Chair O'Malley

- 2) Senator Martin, Art & Design, Chair Niblett,
- 3) Senator Liu, Health Admin. Professions, Chair Brooks
- 4) Senator Bowman, Health Info. Management, Chair Moczygemba,
- 5) Senator Bezner, Philosophy, Chair Hanks
- 6) Senator Smith, Political Science, Chair Grasso

Dean Summative Reviews:

The Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs initiate the review process by January 15, with a committee report completed by March 15 and closure by Sept. 30 each academic year. Review is based on a comprehensive written evaluation of the academic dean's work by a review committee including a member of the Faculty Senate from outside the college appointed by the Faculty Senate who will serve as non-voting chair of the committee. Dana Garcia will chair the summative review committee for Dean Ruth Welborn.

Faculty Concerns:

Subcommittee reported on items to include on a form for faculty to send inquiries and concerns to the senate via electronic submission, which would include the following information:

- 1. Description of problem or issue you are asking Faculty Senate to address
- 2. Department and/or college (undecided)
- 3. Existing policy (PPS URL) or other documentation; N/A if no policy exists to address concern
- 4. Description of any actions taken to learn more about or resolve the issue
- 5. Resolution you would consider satisfactory

The subcommittee recommends against anonymous comments, but in favor of confidentiality for faculty members.

RTA 10/4/17.

Possible PAAG Agenda Items:

Sick leave UPPS clarification
Follow-up on April discussion of news from Washington
Discussion of FDL with five and a half or six-year application interval
Senate goal to build community, and initiative to pursue faculty dining/meeting facility

Senate Action:

Senators Vacaflores and Nolan will review PPS 04.02.01(8.01), evaluation and development of tenure-track faculty, by October 6. Senate will request addition of a link to change of grade forms on the registrar's homepage.

Approved Minutes for September 13, 2017 and September 20, 2017.

Minutes submitted by Rebecca Bell-Metereau, Faculty Senate Secretary