

## May 2015

## FACULTY SENATE BULLET POINTS

- The Faculty Senate welcomes senators-elect Elizabeth Bishop (History, Liberal Arts), Scott Bowman (Criminal Justice, Applied Arts) and Dana Garcia (Biology, Science and Engineering). All are first-time senators and will begin their 2015-18 terms at the May 6 Faculty Senate meeting.
- The pilot program of the summative review of chairs to include a Faculty Senator as an outside
  observer who will convey faculty and staff input to the dean preserving anonymity has been
  completed in the College of Liberal Arts. A review from the Dean of Liberal Arts was generally
  positive and the Council of Academic Deans has endorsed proposed revisions to PPS 1.10.
- Although final actions have not yet been taken, Texas State University budget priorities
  positively addressed by the legislature thus far include (1) funding for construction of a science
  and engineering building in San Marcos and a health science building in Round Rock, (2)
  increased funding for the Higher Education Assistance Fund (HEAF), and (3) an increase in the
  formula for general appropriations.
- Faculty research grant awards will play a role in achieving criteria for National Research
  University Funding (NRUF) status. However, the significance of successful grant writing in the
  tenure, promotion and merit processes is a department/school/program decision and should be
  made clear in unit policies.

If you have questions about any of the topics above, please contact your Faculty <u>Senator</u> or <u>Liaison</u>. The Faculty Senate encourages you to voice your concerns and comments on any faculty and shared governance topics to these representatives or directly to the senate via email: <u>FacultySenate@txstate.edu</u>.