

Faculty Senate Bulletin

### **Summer 2018**



- Tenure and Promotion Cycle
- Due Dates for Fall Applications
- Incentives for Participation in Fellowship Programs

- Faculty Senate Election
- Assessment of Administrators
- Green Cat Challenge Award
- Contact the Faculty Senate

# **Tenure and Promotion Cycle Update**

At the May 2 PAAG meeting, the President and Provost described the tenure and promotion applications they recently reviewed as being exceptionally strong. Unless applicants have been notified through other channels, all of the applications that were recommended to them by the Deans and College Review Groups have been approved pending Regents review.

# **Fall Application Due Dates**



**Faculty Development Leave:** by September 15, notify your department chair or school director if you intend to apply. Applications are due October 1. Apply via the Faculty Requests application system, which will open August 24.

**Nontenure Line Faculty Workload Release:** by September 15, notify your department chair or school director if you intend to apply. Applications are due October 8 via the Faculty Requests application system, which will open August 24.

**Piper Professor Nominee:** applications are due September 15. Please note: this is earlier than previous years, the Faculty Requests application system will open August 15.

**REP:** applications are due October 10. Apply via the <u>Texas State Internal Proposal Online Submission</u> page.



Whatever is silenced will clamor to be heard, though silently. - Margaret Atwood, The Handmaid's Tale

# **Incentives for Participation in Fellowship Programs**

Texas State University provides incentives for the participation of faculty in distinguished national and international fellowship programs (AA/PPS 04.01.32). Faculty members are encouraged to seek awards and fellowships that are recognized by the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board for National Research University Fund eligibility. Visit the senate's <u>Fellowship Programs</u> page for a list of the recognized awards and fellowships. To prepare for the financial implications including salary, workload and benefits, the university is developing an online application. Faculty should contact their chair if they are considering applying for one of these fellowships.

**Recent Texas State Awardees:** 

#### **NSF Career Awards**

- Jessica Bishop (Mathematics), 2016
- Todd Hudnall (Chemistry and Biochemistry), 2016
- Hong Gu Kang (Biology), 2016

#### Cottrell Scholar

• Todd Hudnall (Chemistry and Biochemistry), 2016

Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE)

Oleg Komogortsev (Computer Science), 2017

### **Faculty Senate Election**

Elections for the 60th Faculty Senate and officers have been completed--senators have been elected in the following colleges:

- College of Applied Arts: Michael Supancic, Criminal Justice
- College of Fine Arts & Communication: Lynn Ledbetter, Music
- College of Liberal Arts: Augustine Agwuele, Anthropology (substituting for Elizabeth Bishop, History) and Vince Luizzi, Philosophy
- College of Science & Engineering: Rachel Davenport, Biology

They will join the continuing senators:

- McCoy College of Business Administration: **Diego Vacaflores**, Finance and Economics
- College of Education: **Jesse Gainer**, Curriculum and Instruction and **Ting Liu**, Health and Human Performance
- College of Fine Arts and Communication: Michel Conroy, Art and Design and David Nolan,
  Journalism and Mass Communication
- College of Health Professions: Janet Bezner, Physical Therapy, Vice Chair
- College of Liberal Arts: Rebecca Bell-Metereau, English and Natalie Ceballos, Psychology, Secretary
- College of Science and Engineering: Benjamin Martin, Chemistry and Biochemistry and Alexander White, Mathematics, Chair

### **Assessment of Administrators**

The Faculty Senate has completed the annual Faculty Perceptions of Academic Administrators Survey and the summary document is available at this <u>link</u>. The senate appreciates the assistance of Institutional Research in this effort.

The data sets can be accessed using the links in the summary document. Please note that only the numerical results are available for the Deans at this time. As per an agreement with the Provost, the written comments will be made available for 90 days. Rather than this period comprising the summer months, the comments will be posted via the link noted in the summary document between September 15 and December 15, 2018.

### **Green Cat Challenge**



The Environment and Sustainability Committee announced the winners of the Green Cat Challenge Awards at River Fest on April 19:

Ananda Diener and Avila Jedavi, Student Chemistry Society, for river water testing.

Cedric Chavez, Net Impact team representative for Shell and Net Impact award, for blockchain technology to increase use and efficacy of local solar grids.

Tina Cade, Faculty Award for Sustained Service through Bobcat Blend.

Melissa Skasik, Individual Staff Award, College of Education, for office practices.

Brad Smith, Group Award for Grounds and Waste Management, for water conservation practices.

Robert Eby, Special Recognition Award, staff and graduate student, University-wide Service: Developer, Sustainability at Texas State PowerPoint, and supervision of <u>AASHE</u>'s <u>STARS</u> questionnaire.

### Contact Us!

Do you have a question, concern or issue you want the Faculty Senate to address? Want to make a suggestion? <u>Contact the senate via our website.</u>

More information about these and other topics can be found in the Faculty Senate minutes posted on the <u>Faculty Senate website</u>, or by contacting your Faculty Senator or Senate Liaison. The Faculty Senate encourages you to voice your concerns and comments on any faculty and shared governance topics to these representatives or directly to the senate.