

Faculty Senate Bulletin

February 2020

My faith in the Constitution is whole, it is complete, it is total. And I am not going to sit here and be an idle spectator to the diminution, the subversion, the destruction of the Constitution. –Barbara Jordan



This month:

- Changes to Texas State Policy Prohibiting Discrimination and Sexual Misconduct (Title IX)
- Part-Time Faculty Excellence in Teaching Award
- Assessment of Chairs/Directors
- University Lecturers Series
- Committee Preference Survey
- 61st Faculty Senate, 2019 2020
- Contact the Faculty Senate

Changes to Texas State Policy Prohibiting Discrimination and Sexual Misconduct (Title IX)

Faculty received two emails in the past month from the Office of the Vice President of University Administration highlighting changes in reporting requirements related to sexual misconduct on campus, specifically including the mandatory reporting of incidents of sexual harassment, sexual assault, dating violence, and stalking. Effective January 1, 2020, state law (SB 212) requires all university employees, acting in the course and scope of employment, who witness or receive information concerning an incident of sexual misconduct involving an enrolled student or employee to report all relevant information known about the incident to the university's Title IX Coordinator or Deputy Title IX Coordinator. According to SB 212, employees who knowingly fail to report or knowingly file a false report shall be terminated in accordance with university policy and Texas State University System (TSUS) Rules and Regulations.

While student employees, including Graduate Assistants, are not subject to the reporting requirements or mandatory termination penalty under SB 212, student employees continue to have reporting requirements pursuant to either the TSUS Sexual Misconduct Policy (SMP) or the Clery Act. A student employee's failure to comply with the reporting requirements under either the TSUS SMP or Clery Act, may subject the student employee to disciplinary action.

All Texas State employees are strongly encouraged to read the TSUS SMP. The full policy and glossary can be found <u>here</u>.

Part-Time Faculty Excellence in Teaching Award

As a means to further the University's efforts to recognize outstanding faculty and to acknowledge the many and important contributions of the nontenure line faculty, this policy establishes an awards program for recognizing part-time faculty excellence in teaching and outlines a process for selecting and making these awards. This award is intended to recognize instructors who have not historically been eligible for university teaching awards.

One award may be given per academic college annually. Each award will consist of a certificate signed by the college dean and a monetary award of \$1,000. All faculty members teaching 75% or less FTE in both long semesters of the preceding calendar year are eligible for these awards, exclusive of those faculty members who have received this award in the preceding three years.

For policy and application procedures, visit the senate website.



Assessment of Chairs/Directors

Academic Affairs Policy and Procedure Statement 01.02.11 calls for the job performance of school directors and department chairs at Texas State University to be evaluated annually. Part of the evaluation process is a <u>survey</u> that invites Texas State faculty members to assess their director or chair on a number of standard performance measures. Institutional Research has recently distributed this <u>survey</u> for faculty to provide their perceptions of their director's or chair's performance during calendar year 2019.

Please take the time to participate in this important evaluation process, which will close February 21.

University Lecturers Series

Proposals are due February 10.

The Faculty Senate's <u>University Lecturers Committee</u> reviews requests from colleges, schools, departments and campus organizations for assistance to bring outstanding guest lecturers or minisymposia speakers to Texas State University during the long semesters (funding is not available for Summer sessions). Limited Student Services Fee funds are awarded based on the committee's review of proposals and recommendations to the Faculty Senate.

A call for proposals was issued by the Faculty Senate in November to alert faculty and university organizations to the February 10 proposal due date for lectures to be offered *in Fall 2020 or Spring 2021*. More information is available on the committee's website.

Friday, February 21, 11:00 am - 12:20 pm, Performing Arts Center Recital Hall



The Department of Theatre and Dance presents Olivia O'Hare and the Body Shift Collective: *The DanceAbility Method: Creating a Social Model of Inclusivity Through the Language of Dance*

The language of the body, preverbal, is the oldest language. Olivia's lecture will include discussion of the power of improvisational dance for developing body awareness, enhancing interpersonal relationships, and creative expression for people of all abilities and backgrounds. The Body Shift Collective of dancers with and without disabilities will demonstrate the principles of the Dance Ability method of inclusive dance to showcase how practicing structured improvisation can create instant choreography in the moment. There will be a brief Q & A with Olivia and the dancers after the presentation.

For more information contact Ana Baer, anabaer@txstate.edu

Committee Preference Survey

This month, the Faculty Senate will conduct a survey to determine faculty members' preferences for committee service. You will receive a Qualtrics link in your email with a link to the survey. We estimate that it will take about ten minutes for faculty to review the committees and indicate three ranked preferences. The survey will close Monday, March 9, 2020. The Faculty Senate encourages all faculty members to participate in shared governance by volunteering for university level committee service.

61st Faculty Senate, 2019 - 2020



1 - David Nolan (Secretary), Nicole Wesley, Stan McClellan, Rebecca Bell-Metereau, Rachel Davenport, Janet Bezner (Chair), Lynn Ledbetter, Ben Martin, Vince Luizzi, Michael Supancic, Jesse Gainer, Natalie Ceballos (Vice Chair), Jennifer Jensen, Diego Vacaflores, Lyn Litchke

Applied Arts: Michael Supancic, Criminal Justice

Business Administration: <u>Diego Vacaflores</u>, Finance and Economics

Education: Jesse Gainer, Curriculum and Instruction; Lyn Litchke, Health and Human Performance

Fine Arts & Communication: Lynn Ledbetter, Music; Dave Nolan, Journalism and Mass Communication

(Secretary); Nicole Wesley, Theatre and Dance

Health Professions: <u>Janet Bezner</u>, Physical Therapy (*Chair*)

Liberal Arts: Rebecca Bell-Metereau, English; Natalie Ceballos, Psychology (Vice Chair); Jennifer Jensen,

Geography; Vince Luizzi, Philosophy

Science and Engineering: Rachel Davenport, Biology; Ben Martin, Chemistry and Biochemistry; Stan

McClellan, Engineering

Contact Us!

Do you have a question, concern or issue you want the Faculty Senate to address? Want to make a suggestion? Contact the senate via our website.

More information about these and other topics can be found in the Faculty Senate minutes posted on the <u>Faculty Senate website</u>, or by contacting your Faculty Senator (email links above) or <u>Senate Liaison</u>. The Faculty Senate encourages you to voice your concerns and comments on any faculty and shared governance topics to these representatives or directly to the senate.