# Faculty Senate Minutes Wednesday, May 6, 2015 JCK Regents Room

#### Present

**Senators**: Augustine Agwuele, Rebecca Bell-Metereau, Elizabeth Blunk, Michel Conroy, Barbara Covington, Debra Feakes, Ju Long, Lynn Ledbetter, Audrey McKinney, Shirley Ogletree, Emily Miller Payne, Jovita Ross-Gordon, Vedaraman Sriraman, Susan Weill, Alex White

Senators-elect: Elizabeth Bishop, Scott Bowman

**Administrators**: President Trauth, Provost Bourgeois, Associate Provost Opheim

Guests: Paivi Rentz, library liaison, Tom Grimes

Meeting called to order at 4 p.m. by Senate Chair Conroy

### President's Academic Advisory Group (PAAG)

Role of faculty perception surveys in the evaluation of deans and chairs/directors
 Provost Bourgeois said he reviews the perception surveys and that he encourages
 faculty to participate. He is supportive of a Faculty Senate proposed revision of PPS

 8.03 to include the perception surveys of deans in the formal evaluation process.
 Currently, only the perception surveys of chairs and directors are referenced in PPS
 8.03. Senator Conroy will draft the revision.

• Faculty hiring questions

Spousal hiring in candidate negotiations

The president's office is working on a written statement to clarify spousal hiring. Currently, such hires are considered on a case by case basis. In the last five years, about five couples were offered employment at Texas State, mostly with a nontenure track spousal hire that created a net new position for the hiring department.

Reclassification from lecturer to senior lecturer

A qualified lecturer at Texas State may be reclassified as a senior lecturer without a national search. The initial hire of a permanently funded full-time senior lecturer position requires a national search.

• Promotion and Tenure 2015-15 Cycle

President Trauth praised the "stellar class" of applicants for tenure and promotion approved by her office. The provost encouraged more of the interdisciplinary research represented in several of the applications. Three colleges are now using external reviewers for tenure and promotion and this may be required across the university in the future. The final vote and approval for the cycle rests with the Board of Regents in late May, but historically the regents endorse the president's recommendations.

• Legislative update

Modifications to the Hazlewood Act are being considered by the Texas Legislature. Changes could include a minimum military service requirement of six years rather than the current six months, a minimum six-year Texas residency for eligible veterans, and Hazlewood benefits would have to be used within 15 years of discharge.

The open carry gun law recently passed by the Texas Legislature will not allow open carry on campus, but concealed carry by licensed gun owners age 21 and older is now allowed except in hospitals, daycare centers and sporting events.

• Presentation of Piper Professor Award to Senator Sriraman

President Trauth presented the Piper Professor Award to Senator Sriraman. He is the 21st Piper Professor selected from Texas State University.

## PAAG Follow-Up

Reaction to the PAAG discussion was generally positive. Senator Conroy will draft a revision for PPS 8.03 to require that the faculty perception survey of deans be utilized in dean evaluations by the administration.

### INFORMATION AND FOLLOW-UP ITEMS

Nontenure Line Faculty Committee (NLFC) report, Senator Sriraman

Part-time Faculty Award for Excellence in Teaching

The recommendations of the NLFC for the Part-time Faculty Award for Excellence in Teaching were discussed and approved by the Faculty Senate. The 2015 awardees are James Elshoff, Applied Arts; Kathy Moffitt, Business Administration; Laura Foster, Education; Sherry Snowden, Fine Arts and Communication; Karima Lalani, Health Professions; Antonio Alfau, Liberal Arts; Ted Lehr, Science and Engineering

Senate Fellow nominees

Andrew Marks, a clinical senior lecturer in the School of Social Work, was selected by the senate from nominations submitted by the NFLC as the first Faculty Senate Fellow. He will serve during the 2015-16 school year.

### 57th Faculty Senate Convenes

Departing senators recognized for service

Debra Feakes, College of Science and Engineering Elizabeth Blunk, College of Applied Arts Audrey McKinney, College of Liberal Arts

Installation of newly elected senators

Elizabeth Bishop, College of Liberal Arts Scott Bowman, College of Applied Arts Dana Garcia, College of Science and Engineering (not present)

Officers of the 57<sup>th</sup> Faculty Senate (2015-16)

Chair Michel Conroy Vice Chair Alex White Lynn Ledbetter Secretary

Members of the 57<sup>th</sup> Faculty Senate (2015-16)

College of Applied Arts

Scott Bowman (2018) Criminal Justice

McCoy College of Business

Ju Long (2016) Computer Information Systems and Quantitative Methods

### College of Education

Emily Payne (2016) Curriculum & Instruction Jovita Ross-Gordon (2017) Counseling, Leadership, Adult Education and School Psychology

### College of Fine Arts and Communication

Michel Conroy (2016) Art and Design Lynn Ledbetter (2017) Music Susan Weill (2016) Journalism and Mass Communication

## College of Health Professions

Barbara Covington (2016) St. David's School of Nursing

## College of Liberal Arts

Augustine Agwuele (2016) Anthropology Rebecca Bell-Metereau (2016) English Elizabeth Bishop (2018) History Audrey McKinney will substitute for Senator Bishop while she is on development leave (Fall 2015) Shirley Ogletree (2017) Psychology

## College of Science and Engineering

Dana Garcia (2018) Biology Vedaraman Sriraman (2017) Engineering Technology Alex White (2016) Mathematics

### Summer meeting dates

The 2015 summer schedule for Senate meetings (3 p.m. -5 p.m.)

June 3 (Wednesday) July 8 (Wednesday) August 12 (Wednesday) Tentative

Minutes of 4/29 approved as amended.

Meeting adjourned at 6:10 p.m.

~Minutes submitted by Susan Weill