Nontenure Line Faculty Committee Agenda Friday, January 20, 2017 Open Session 1:00 – 3:00 p.m. JCK 880

Members Attending: Alex White, Kevin Jetton, Andrew Marks, Renee Wendel, Susan Holtz, Gloria Velasquez, Sue Steward, Amy Weeks, Maureen Lemke, Sherwood Bishop, Glynda Betros, Kay Newling, Caprice Pierucci, Sharon Armstead and Jo Beth Oestreich.

Welcome

Chair Alex White called the meeting to order at 1:03 pm

Chair Report: The chair shared:

- A documentary about policies of certain states to defund universities called, *Starving the Beast* with a dialogue following the showing (sponsored by the Philosophy Department) will be held on **Thurs. Jan 26, 2 pm and 5 pm Comal 116**
- Anyone interested in sending suggestions to the President, especially related to civility and
 diversity on campus should direct comments to: www.president.txstate.edu/send-a-suggestion
 Note it is not certain at this time how information sent to this link will be used or
 disseminated
- Two New Orientation sessions were held on January 10 and 11. A total of seven new NLF attended these informative Orientation sessions.
- All faculty are to complete their Faculty Qualifications using Digital Measures, and to be considered for Merit pay before January 31. This is new to all faculty, but has been in use for many years in the College of Business.
- Dr. Vedaraman Sriraman is the new AVPAA. Dr. Sriraman replaces Debbie Thorne. Dr. Sriraman was a former Chair of the NTLF.

Updates:

Workshops for Spring 2017

• Our upcoming workshops are:

Understanding your position as a nontenure line faculty. Currently these workshops are scheduled for:

- Mon Feb 13, 11 2 Alkek 105, Sherri, Gloria, Maureen, Sharon
- Tue Feb 14, 11-2 Alkek 106, Sherri, Gloria, and Glynda

And,

NLF Workload release program. Currently these workshops are scheduled for:

- Wed Mar 22, 11 2 Alkek 105, Alex W, Sherri and Maureen
- Thur Mar 23, 11 2 Alkek 106, Alex W., Sherri, Amy, Gloria and Jo Beth

Part -Time Excellence in Teaching Award

Motion was made by Andrew Marks and Second by Maureen Lemke for NLFC Part-Time Faculty Excellence in Teaching Award applicants submit a letter of support from a faculty member with their application. Upon receipt of the application, the NLFC will inform the Deans and Chairs of the various colleges and departments across the university of their faculty member (or members) has (have) applied for this award. Motion: **PASSED**.

NOTE: Applications are due March 10. Review of the applications by the appropriate NLF representative by March 28. The Chair will send an e-mail to notify recommendations before April 21st. in preparation to report findings, etc. at our April 21st meeting. Additionally, Work Load Release opportunities is funded by the Provost.

Maureen Lemke reminded everyone to inform NLF to share accomplishments, etc. to be hi-lighted on the NLF website. All submissions MUST BE WEB-PRINT READY. Photos are also encouraged. Web-ready descriptions are to be sent to Maureen at lemke@txstate.edu

New Business:

The Faculty Senate approved a new work group committee to design the structure, mission and purpose for an Academic Freedom Committee. NLF are eligible to be a member of this future committee.

All Departments should have a written Conversion policy related to Lecture to Senior Lecturer, etc. Please know many of these policies are also stored in Faculty Records. Several examples are posted on our TRACS site.

Additional Comments:

Dialogues: The committee desires to continue these opportunities and will work to schedule these throughout the year.

The committee desires to develop **a recognition of NLF** who have 10 or more years of service to the university. Currently, only full-time faculty receive any recognition of 10 or more years of service.

Chair White adjourned the meeting at 3:00 pm. Next meeting: Friday, February 17, 1:00 pm

Respectfully submitted: Jo Beth Oestreich