Council of Academic Deans May 13, 2014

Summary and Action Items

• Statistical Software Needs and SPSS Alternative Committee: Dr. Van Wyatt provided the Council with an update on SPSS issues, including commitment to providing SPSS to faculty, alternative programs to be recommended for possible use, and prospective availability of SPSS in labs.

• **M&O** Advisory Group Progress Report (revisit): Dr. Cynthia Opheim provided the Council with an update on the progress/work of the M&O Advisory Group.

• **Requirements for Graduating with Honors**: Ms. Stacey Rodriguez informed the Council that the President's Office has asked that an addition regarding the requirements for graduating with honors at Texas State be added to all advising documents, particularly for transfer students.

• **Proposed Board of Regents Rules and Regulations Changes**: Dr. Bourgeois presented the Council with the proposed changes to the Board of Regents Rules and Regulations regarding tolling of the tenure clock and grievances.

• Undergraduate Admissions Report: Dr. Michael Heintze provided the Council with the undergraduate admissions report.

• **Graduate Admissions Report**: Dr. Andrea Golato provided the Council with the graduate admissions report.

Off Agenda

• University News Service will retain the "News and Announcements" area on the Texas State homepage for press releases and announcements. Draft general guidelines have been established for the distribution of Texas State news releases to local, regional, state, and national media.

• Texas State will move forward with upgrading the older Locknetics to card readers.

• Dr. Bourgeois announced to the Council that the President will be planning a 50th anniversary celebration of the signing of the Higher Education Act. Dr. Bourgeois asked the Council to consider membership for a steering committee and committee chair charged with the planning and coordination of this event.

• There will be a rededication of the Comal Building that will take place the week of Homecoming 2014.

• Dr. Debra Feakes announced to the Council the recipients of the Part-Time Faculty Excellence in Teaching Award.