Letter from the Director



This issue marks our fifteenth year of publishing the *Journal of Texas Music History*, which also is available online at **txstate.edu/ctmh/ publications/journal.html**. There's no charge to receive the *Journal of Texas Music History*. Simply contact us at gh08@ txstate.edu, and we'll be happy

to put you on our mailing list.

The Center for Texas Music History has had another very successful year. We continue to teach graduate and undergraduate music history courses through Texas State University's History Department. Once again, we will offer our popular course, "The History of Rock & Roll" (at both the graduate and undergraduate-level) as part of the History Department's Study Abroad in Chester, England, program. We plan to continue offering this and other courses on an ongoing basis as part of the university's Study Abroad program.

In addition to developing new courses and other educational programming for students, the Center for Texas Music History continues to provide student scholarships at Texas State. This year, we awarded the third annual Michael R. Davis Scholarship to graduate history major Jennifer Ruch. We are very grateful to Greg Davis for establishing this distinguished scholarship as a way to honor his brother and help support our students' educational endeavors. We also awarded our very first Kent Finlay scholarship to graduate history major Jonathan Watson. We are grateful to everyone who contributed so generously to the Finlay scholarship endowment.

The Center's award-winning *John and Robin Dickson Series in Texas Music* (produced in collaboration with Texas A&M University Press) already has published a number of important books examining various aspects of Texas music history, with several new books scheduled to appear in the coming months. As part of our core mission, the Center for Texas Music History continues to develop a variety of innovative programs designed to educate students and the general public about how Texas music reflects the unique history and tremendous cultural diversity of our state.

We couldn't begin to do all that we do without the help of many friends and supporters. My sincerest thanks to Jason Mellard, Kathleen O'Keefe, Alan Schaefer, César Limón, the Center's Advisory Board, Mary Brennan & Alan Apel, Frank de la Teja, Tammy Gonzales, Madelyn Patlan, Roberta Ann Ruiz, the Texas State University Department of History, Denise Trauth & John Huffman, Gene & Lynn Bourgeois, Michael Hennessey, Gail Randle, Vicki Clarke, John & Robin Dickson, Patti Harrison, Mark & Linda Smith, Pat Muehl, Kent Finlay, Francine Hartman, Paul & Polly Glasse, Tamara Saviano, Michael Willoughby, Diana Harrell, Perry & Marianne Moore, Randy Rogers, Brady & Bree Black, Bill Whitbeck, Phil & Cecilia Collins, Richard & Linda Campbell, Greg Davis, Michael Davis, Steven Alyea & Lindlley Workman Aleya, Dalis Allen, Kim & Robert Richey, Joe & Alice Specht, Pam Golightly, Gregg Andrews & Vikki Bynum, Lanita Hanson, Jim & Cathey Moore, Tracie Ferguson, Ruthie Foster, Randy & Leslie Collier, Mark & Diana Hendricks, Tom & Ann Francese, Elmer & Susan Rosenberger, Rick & Laurie Baish, Nell Hesson, Lucky & Becky Tomblin, Denise Boudreaux, Carol Dochen, Jo & Paul Snider, Darrell & Barbara Piersol, Ralph & Patti Dowling, Dennis & Margaret Dunn, Ron & Judy Brown, Grant Mazak, Mariko Gomez, Cathy Supple, Sharon Sandomirsky & Chris Ellison, John Kunz, Bill Musser, Lee & Judy Keller, Ronda Reagan, Glenn Joy, Jennifer Joy & Mark White, Luan Brunson Haynes & Elizabeth Brunson Vickers, Billy Seidel, and many others.

To learn more about the Center and its unique programs, please contact us or visit our website. Thanks for your interest and support!

Dr. Gary Hartman, Director

Center for Texas Music History Department of History Texas State University 601 University Drive San Marcos, TX 78666

512.245.3749 gh08@txstate.edu txstate.edu/ctmh

Center for Texas Music History

Director Gary Hartman

Assistant Director Jason Dean Mellard

Director of Programs Kathleen O'Keefe

Administrative Assistant Kristi Bigley

The Journal of Texas Music History

Editors Gary Hartman Alan Schaefer Jason Dean Mellard

Art Director/Designer César Limón

Contributors Diana Finlay Hendricks Alan Schaefer Joe W. Specht

Reviews John Cline Kent Hemphill

The Journal of Texas Music History is published annually by the Center for Texas Music History at Texas State University. The contents of this journal do not necessarily represent the views of the university.

Subscription: There is no charge to receive the *Journal*. Simply contact the Center for Texas Music History to be placed on our mailing list.

Article Submissions: Please submit manuscripts by e-mail in Microsoft Word, Chicago Style, to gh08@txstate.edu or mail to Journal of Texas Music History, Department of History, Texas State University, 601 University Drive, San Marcos, TX 78666.

© 2001 Center for Texas Music History, Texas State University-San Marcos

ISSN 1535-7104

The Journal of 2015

Contents

8 Delbert McClinton: One of the Fortunate Few Diana Finlay Hendricks

- 28 "Amarillo By Morning": *The Life and Songs of Terry Stafford* Joe W. Specht
- 46 Homegrown: Austin Music Posters 1967 to 1982 Alan Schaefer

Reviews

56 The Flatlanders: Now It's Now Again John Cline

57 Austin City Limits: A History Kent Hemphill





28



46

Texas State University System Board of Regents Dr. Jaime R. Garza Chairman, San Antonio Rossanna Salazar Vice Chairman, Austin Charlie Amato San Antonio Veronica Muzquiz Edwards San Antonio David Montagne Beaumont Vernon Reaser III Bellaire William F. Scott Nederland Alan L. Tinsley Madisonville Donna N. Williams Arlington Spencer Copeland

Spencer Copeland Student Regent, Huntsville Dr. Brian McCall Chancellor

Submissions **Review Board** John Dempsey The University of North Texas, Denton Craig D. Hillis The University of Texas at Austin Bill C. Malone Madison, WI Karl Hagstrom Miller The University of Virginia Kevin Edward Mooney Texas State University Edward D. Oliphant The University of Texas at Austin Jerry Rodnitzky The University of Texas at Arlington Guadalupe San Miguel, Jr. The University of Houston, Houston Joe Specht McMurry University, Abilene Roger Wood Houston Community College System, Houston

The Center for Texas Music History Board of Advisors Marcia Ball Craig Barker Ralph Dowling Tommy Foote Tom Frost III Casey Monahan Joe Nick Patoski Elizabeth Pittman Guadalupe San Miguel, Jr. Lucky Tomblin